Horace W. Porter




There are three types of social/emotional curriculum each student in the middle school will be receiving during the school year.

  1. Second Step Classes (Social Skills Classes) have or will be starting soon.  These lessons will involve discussions surrounding:
  • Empathy
  • Communication
  • Perspective taking
  • Respectful disagreement
  • Negotiation and compromise
  • Emotion management
  • Coping with stress
  • Decision making

The goals of the Second Step middle school program are to decrease aggression, bullying, and substance abuse and increase students’ social skills and school success.

  1. The other type of classroom lessons are referred to as “Advisory Classes”.  These classes are designed to meet adolescents' needs for autonomy, competence, relationship, and fun.  Each class is designed around the “power of play” to create a safe and structured community based around Cooperation, Communication, Assertion, Responsibility, Empathy, Engagement, and Self-control.
  2. Lastly, students will also be engaging in classroom based discussions surrounding the topics of career exploration.  These classes will center on current school and future career goals.  Studies show that it is important to start these conversations early.  Students will participate in goal setting, career inventories, career cluster exploration, and discuss the connection between  what they are accomplish now is in fact connected to their future.