Columbia School District

PBIS

PAWS: Practice Respect, Act Responsibly, Work Together, Safety Matters

Horace W. Porter School uses a system of positive behavioral interventions and supports (PBIS) to encourage, teach, practice and model appropriate, respectful and responsible student behavior. We have four core behavioral expectations for students: Practice Respect, Act Responsibly, Work Together, Safety Matters (PAWS).

  • PBIS is a framework for administrators, staff and parents to follow. It will take 35 years to develop and implement throughout the school, including classrooms, cafeteria, recess and buses.

  • The goal of PBIS is to create a safe and positive school climate where children can learn and grow academically, socially, behaviorally and emotionally.

  • School-wide PBIS supports all students by clarifying our behavioral expectations, explicitly teaching and modeling these expectations, developing individualized plans for specific students and recognizing when students demonstrate positive behaviors.

  • PBIS focuses on the development and implementation of proactive procedures, practices and strategies to prevent problem behavior with the focus being on positive support.

  • PBIS helps to guide schools as they respond to discipline issues.


PBIS Team Members

Caputo, Karen

Assistant Principal

kcaputo@hwporter.org


Huntington, Craig

Grades 7–8 Social Studies Teacher

chuntington@hwporter.org


MacDonald, Katherine

Grades 58 Visual Arts, Arts Integration Teacher

kmacdonald@hwporter.org


Maltese, Kristen

K8 Interventionist and Language Arts Coach

Curriculum Team Leader

kmaltese@hwporter.org

McLeish, Lorraine

Grades PK8 Special Education Teacher

lmcleish@hwporter.org


Piatek, Shannon

Grade 2 Teacher

spiatek@hwporter.org


Polakowski, Corey

Grades 5-8 School Counselor

cpolakowski@hwporter.org


Ritchie, Carolyn

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

critchie@hwporter.org


Rivard-Lentz, Cheri

AHM Counselor


Rookey, Lynn

School Psychologist

lrookey@hwporter.org


Spear, Kristin

Social Worker

kspear@hwporter.org


Surface, Alyssa

Grade 4 Teacher

asurface@hwporter.org


Traber, Janna

Grades 5 Teacher

jtraber@hwporter.org


Whitcomb, Sara

PBIS Consultant- UMass Amherst

We Practice Respect

We Act Responsibly

We Work Together

Safety Matters

We are Proud Panthers !